Vancouver, B.C. – Central Okanagan Regional District Director Aaron Dinwoodie has been elected as President of the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM), an association of BC?s local governments.

Dinwoodie won the position at the 101st Annual General Meeting of the UBCM, where over 1500 delegates cast votes for eleven elected positions on the UBCM Board of Directors.

?It is an honour and a privilege to serve in the leadership role at UBCM,? said Dinwoodie. ?We?re looking forward to achieving significant results in revenue sharing with senior levels of government in the upcoming year.? Dinwoodie replaces outgoing Mayor Frank Leonard of Saanich, who has served as President for the past year.

Also elected to the new executive was Councillor Marvin Hunt of Surrey, who was named as the new First Vice President, a position Dinwoodie held in the previous executive.

Also Elected:

2nd Vice President: Mayor Wayne Dahlen, City of Dawson Creek

3rd Vice President: Councillor Brenda Binnie, City of Castlegar

Small Community Rep: Mayor Sharon Hartwell, Village of Telkwa

Electoral Area Rep: Director Susan Gimse, Squamish-Lillooet RD

Directors at Large will be:

Director Ted Armstrong, Cariboo, RD

Councillor Robert Hobson, City of Kelowna

Councillor Corinne Lonsdale, District of Squamish

Mayor Herb Pond, City of Prince Rupert

Councillor Dan Rogers, City of Prince George

The 101st convention of the Union of British Columbia Municipalities was held in Kelowna from Monday September 20th to Friday September 24th, 2004.

For more information on the event, go to http://www.civicnet.bc.ca.