Explore local this year

A new road guide produced by the Northern Trails Heritage Society encourages locals to explore local this year.

The Auto Tour Guide, launched last week in Chetwynd, includes easy driving connections between nine museums from Tumbler Ridge to Fort Nelson with historic sights, regional parks and additional stops of interest along the way.

Each museum has a unique display for 2017 among the many pioneer and prehistoric exhibits and artifacts.

The Auto Tour Guide celebrates the communities along the Alaska Highway, 75 years since the building of the road. Local residents are encouraged to take to the road this summer to find out more about our own back yard.

Day trips close to home encourage children to learn more about their surroundings. Knowing about how our communities grew helps to build pride in the region.

Stand where dinosaurs danced and soldiers suffered. Feel the flow of the furs from trap line to market. Follow the footprints that formed the present and will influence the future.

From Tumbler Ridge’s Geopark and dinosaur tours, across Bear Flat’s road “never to be traveled again” to Fort Nelson’s amazing collection of vehicles that traveled the highway, the Auto Tour takes you to places you need to experience.

Funds for the 10,000 copies of the Auto Guide came from the NE Regional Tourism Consortium of Destinations BC, Peace Liard Regional Arts Council, Fort St. John Arts Council, PRRD Parks, The Dalglish Family Foundation and Fort Nelson Tourism.

The new guides are available at all museums, galleries and Visitor Information Centres. Entry points into the region will have guides available at some gas stations and corner stores.

The Northern Trails Heritage Society is a volunteer based, charitable non-profit organization in the Peace River Regional District and the Northern Rockies Municipal Regional District open to everyone interested in the heritage of the region. “Our main street is the Alaska Highway and every community and rural area in the region is included,” says Sue Poesku, Chair of the group.