Northern British Columbia Today?s Woman Awards

The Northern British Columbia?s Today?s Woman Awards were held on Friday, September 17, 2004 in Prince George. 160 Nominations were made in 13 Award categories for women in business across northern BC. Congratulations to the winners, and to the contributions they each make to their communities.

Forging our Future with Education

sponsored by Sprott Shaw Community College and awarded to women educators who act as role models, who nurture other?s career aspirations or who inspire their students.

Deanna Nyce

Influence and impact- Woman of the Year sponsored by Lynda Kearns-Tillett of Clarica ? A demonstrated leader who has made an impact in her community, company or industry.

Sue Popesku

Innovator of the Year sponsored by Business Development Bank of Canada ? a woman who has demonstrated an outstanding achievement in innovation within her community by implementing new processes or systems or creating a new product or service.

Barbara Rayment

Business of the Year sponsored by Pacific Western Brewing Company ? Recognizing excellence in business, this award acknowledges business success achieved over a two year period.

Birch Creek Nursery, Barbara Rayment

Women in Leadershipsponsored by Dean Mason & Company, Chartered Accountants ? Celebrates a woman who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in her field or organization and who has demonstrated strategic growth opportunities for both the organization and its people encompassing expansion of the organization and mentorship, advancement or career development for team members.

Lucy Gagnon

Health & Wellness sponsored by the Spirit of the North Healthcare Foundation ? An award to respect contributions of women practicing traditional and alternative therapies enhancing physical, emotional or spiritual well being.

Elizabeth Zook

Aboriginal Woman of Distinction sponsored by Aboriginal Business Development Corporation ? A woman of Aboriginal descent who has excelled within the Aboriginal Community.

Deanna Nyce

Leader in Knowledge Advancement sponsored by UNBC ? To be awarded to a northern woman who has significantly contributed to the advancement of knowledge in her field and who has thereby made a substantial contribution to social and economic advancement in Central and Northern BC.

Doris Brocke

Professional Woman of Distinction sponsored by Dick Byl Law Corporation ? In celebration of woman?s achievements in a recognized profession, this award acknowledges and honors outstanding professional dedication.

Wendy L. Fellers

Excellence in Mentorship sponsored by Minerva Foundation Northern Chapter ? To recognize excellence in mentoring women in both education and leadership

Karen Davies

Home?Based Business of the Year sponsored by Community Futures Development Corporation ? This award is presented to the woman who operates a viable business from her home.

Tumbler Ridge News, Loraine Funk

Focus on the Future Youth sponsored by Alcan ? An outstanding young woman under 30 who has demonstrated leadership among her peers or shown outstanding promise in her field of endeavor.

Jennifer Simm

Community Enrichment sponsored by The Prince George Free Press ? From the ranks of women who serve in any volunteer capacity, this award is for the woman who has given selflessly to her community.

Patricia Earle