Reginal Arts Council

The Tumbler Ridge Community Arts Council (TRCAC) is a member of two larger bodies. The first is Assembly of BC Arts Council (ABCAC) and the second is Peace Liard regional Arts Council (PLRAC). This latter umbrella group governs the communities of the BC Peace region, including; Fort St. John, Hudson?s Hope, Fort Nelson, Dawson Creek, Chetwynd and Tumbler Ridge.

Visiting for an regular rotation between the communities were the following: Sue Popesku (PLRAC president), Ellen Corea (secretary and coordinator of PLRAC as well as vice president of Dawson Creek Arts Council),Sonja Butts (PLRAC treasurer; FSJ Arts Council), Heidy Kux-Kardos (representative to BCTC; Dawson Creek Arts Council), Rosaleen Ward (Dawson Creek Arts Council), Pat Markin (FSJ Arts Council).

Attending from our local arts council; Brian Sipe (president), Erin Hanna (secretary), Barb Schuerkamp (director), Blaine Maughan, Tammy Pigeon, Lucas Evans.

The meeting began at 9:30 am and went until 12:30 pm, with a break for lunch and a chance for the visitors to look at TRISPS craft fair items, and several purchases were made. The afternoon meeting took place from 1:30 pm ? 3:00 pm.

It was a nice surprise for all, when Janet and George Hartford stopped in to say hello. The Hartfords have long since been members of the art council and many of those visiting from other parts of the region either knew the Hartfords personally or by reputation.