Two New Councillors Elected for Tumbler Ridge

Lynsey Kitching


The unofficial (as of print) election results for the recent by-election are in and the race was fairly close. The by-election was called to elect two new councillors to fill the vacant seats of Aleen Torraville and Sherri-Lynn Hewitt and the official voting day was August 17, 2013.

According to the count, Bev Litster won the majority of the votes with 122 and Chris Leggett came in second with 102 votes. This makes Litster and Leggett our new councillors until the fall of 2014.

“I want to say congrats to Bev, she was the number one candidate, she did a great job,” says Leggett. “Her and I both attended the vote count, it was a rollercoaster ride! At the end of the day, I am grateful and happy the community has given me the privilege to sit on council here. And I’ll work hard for the community moving forward.”

The race was close and unfortunately Brenda Holmlund’s 83 votes and Jerrilyn Schembri’s 95 votes weren’t quite enough.

Only about 10 percent of the voting public in Tumbler came out to cast their ballot for this by-election.

If we total up the votes, there were 217 people who came out to the polls of 2115 eligible voters. Though there were 402 votes, each person could vote for two people, so there were 16 people who only voted for one person, not two.

At the last by-election, which took place in January of this year, the turnout was a little higher, with 268 people voting for the vacant seat on council created by the leaving of Doug Beale, which was filled by Don McPherson.

When Litster saw the results, she said she was “elated” and says, “Thanks to everyone for their support. Thanks to the other candidates for their contribution to the democratic process. I’m looking forward to serving the residents of Tumbler.”

The two new councillors will be sworn in on Sept. 3, 2013.